1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Growing Degree Days

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by heritage, Feb 11, 2004.

1. heritage

heritage LawnSite Bronze Member

How many of you professionals are using GDD for insect activity as well as for timing your crabgrass pre-emergence herbicide applications. I have been using this system for 3 years and it really helps with monitoring and spraying pests at the right time. Using 25% less insecticides now with better results.
  2. KenH

KenH LawnSite Bronze Member
    from CT

I have a number I can call which tells me GDD and current insect activity. For crab pre., I use my own method.....:p
  3. Russ

Russ LawnSite Senior Member

4. Rtom45

Rtom45 LawnSite Senior Member

Penn State also has that information. I'll have to check the link and post it later. Very useful information.
  5. TSM

TSM LawnSite Senior Member
    from MA

Knowing GDD is a must. We dont use it in our lawn program but definately in our tree/shrub program.

Thing is, even if you dont use this method, you should understand it. It is another way we can distingish ourselves from the homeowner or fly-by-nighter.
  6. Pete,

Never heard of using Gdd for crab and goose control.
    What are the GDD total?
    I have always check soil temp at 3 in depth under turfgrass cover of average density. When soil temp is 55 degrees for three consecutive days at SUNRISE, you better have pre emerge down very soon!!!!!!!
  7. GroundKprs

GroundKprs LawnSite Bronze Member

Tim, I do not use GDD directly for pre-em timing, but I do find that phenological indicators are fairly accurate, and some of those relationships can be based on the same cumulative temperature data that GDD's are.