Growing pains and a recent quote from Ric

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by ThreeWide, Jan 5, 2005.

1. ThreeWide

ThreeWide LawnSite Bronze Member

Most of you here know that I am new to this field having started last year. At this point in time, some growing pains have arrived.

Today I visited 5 properties that will very likely become new clients for me in terms of fert and weed control. This is obviously good news, but they are somewhat larger in size than my current client list. In addition, they have not been well maintained and will require a blanket weed control app to address current broadleafs as well as poa annua. Spot spraying just won't get it done. This is something I have managed to prevent with my current properties.

So now, a statement that Ric made recently comes back to my memory:

Oh how I wish this was true for me right now. Having a collection of pump sprayers will not address a 15,000 sq ft weed problem. My weapon of choice will be the old 30 gal skid sprayer with 150 feet of hose that I basically got at salvage a few months ago. This skid sprayer has no agitation, so I'm at a disadvantage there. It will however, spray at a 1gpm max.

Of course now I'm tempted to hit Lesco and pickup a 100-gal sprayer, but that comes with a huge debt. I own all of my equipment free and clear at this point, but it could be that eventually you have to bite the bullet.

I'm sure some of you folks have been in this position before, so any words of wisdom would be appreciated.

2. Ric

Ric LawnSite Fanatic

Turf

15K of weeds to spray is nothing. 100 gallon is a real over kill.

Post Emerge Herbicide are most effective if Sprayed at ONE gallon per Thousands. Add food coloring if you want to be sure to it right.

Now I was in Tractor supply today and they have a 25 gallon electric tank for $ 124.00. Sure No agitation so just stick the wand in the tank and mix it once and a while depending on your poison of choice.

3. Ric