Growing..should probably buy different equipment..need advice

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by amos_moses, Aug 29, 2007.

1. amos_moses

amos_moses LawnSite Member
    from AR

This is my first year of seriously trying this biz. I have 13 accounts now. Two of them are commercial. I'm almost done taking over 18 more from another LCO. Six of those are gas stations, the rest residential. Total of all props should gross about $1000 per week. I have a 50" cub cadet z-force residential Z, 21" pusher, HS80, BR600, FS90, 16x6.5 open utility trailer, Chevy c1500, 8.5' utility trailer with sides, and some odds n' ends. I have insurance. Most of my current customers came from newspaper. I'm going to drop 4 of them at season's end cause they are PITA.

My props: by the time it's all said and done, about half will be 1/4-1/2 acre, mostly flat, some gentle slopes, two with narrow gates, 5 of them irrigated and fertilized. 1/4 will be commercials with 2000-10,000 sq ft areas and some long narrow strips and lots of curbs and walks. The other 1/4 will be flat, open, no fence 1acre-2.5 acres.

I have no biz debt thus far.

My question is this: In your opinion, what equipment should I purchase, if any?(sizes and brands welcome) I THINK I need more speed. My Z still runs great, for now. I've been told I should run it 'til it pukes. The prevailing notion on here seems to be I should have never bought resi in the first place. At this point, I don't mind financing, as income is adequate from the accts i have right now, I think. I also work 9-5 so I'm not going to starve if something goes wrong, but I also don't want to take unnecessary risks. I have about $1000 in cash on hand and about another $1500 in accounts receivable.

I welcome all opinions. I think I need a collection adequate for any conditions, but will still fit on my trailer. Also, I can't get a bigger trailer. I don't think I can afford it and I don't know if my 1/2 ton will pull much bigger.

TIA