Growing the Business

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by burkcs, May 8, 2008.

1. burkcs

burkcs LawnSite Member

I am looking to grow my business. This is my second season performing lawn maintenance and light landscaping. I have plenty of business in my area with a lot more potential.

Bare with me for a moment.

I am an Oracle DBA by day and Lawn Maintenance guy on the weekend. I have ten accounts that I mow, five accounts I fertilize, and three of them I have completely landscaped. I also love to spend a lot of time in my own yard. I spend a lot of time top dressing my lawn and reel mowing.

My problem. I have a wife and three children that I do not get to see much anymore.

My proposal. I would like to hire some people to perform the work while I run the other side of the business. My plan would be to bring additional business in including moving into other area's of landscaping like design, trees, shrubs, pine straw, lighting, walls, top dressing, and of course reel mowing. Really the sky is the limited.

My question. What steps or precautions do you take to protect your equipment while in the hands of hired help? In other words, whats to prevent my hired help from running off with my equipment if I allow them to pick it up for the day to perform the work at hand. This is my biggest concern.

I am not familiar with what insurance is available and if it covers just the employee's or the equipment too.

If any of you guy's out there have a similar scenario, please provide me some detail on how you deal with handing your business over to hired help.

Thanks for listening.
  2. brucec32

brucec32 LawnSite Platinum Member

Good luck with that. It sure sounds easy on paper. But if you do it right you'll be spending as much or more time on it with employees and you could doing it part time yourself.

There's a reason most people don't have full time jobs while also running a service industry businesses.