Growth question for high schooler.

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by bowpro, Sep 23, 2005.

1. bowpro

bowpro LawnSite Member

I have been doing lawn maintenance for a few years, but finally this year got a proline, and commercail blower/edger and trimmer. I am still amazed at the efficiency, and time that is saved. I manage 15 regular accounts after school, and of those 11 are weekly. I have the opportunity to take on a subdivision front that will be $1,100 a month for 4 cuts. The guy doing it now spends 3 hrs per week with two helpers. Also of my 15 customers 7 are in that subdivision. My delima is if I should try to expand after school, but time is already short, or if I should drop some customers and take on the commercial account. I don't want to put all my ducks in one basket though. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

2. South Florida Lawns

South Florida Lawns LawnSite Platinum Member
    from usa

First before you take on the sub entrance, I would highly recommend getting a license and some insurance. It is always important to have these with commercial or even residential accounts. Also take your time with growing your business, stick with the good solid customers that you have now and if you can take on some more go for it. Also make sure you charge accordingly, don't undercut your competition or it will bite you in the butt. Good luck, hope this helped.

3. kemmer

kemmer LawnSite Senior Member

If it takes him 3 hours with 3 guys, its gonna take you much longer, also he probably have 2 to 3 mowers running, if not 2 trimmers. So its gonna take you much longer, maybe the whole day after school, if you have a free day, id say take it, but maybe get a helper. Maybe invest in more equipment after you have the account for a while.

Also, there probably not gonna hire you if you dont have insurance.

4. bowpro

bowpro LawnSite Member