Grubb question?

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by mikey, Apr 3, 2002.

1. mikey

mikey LawnSite Member

i had a buddy of mine who does a lot of business with me in th espring and summer im a solo operator.He showed me all these
    big holes in his mulch and grass and he wants me to put down that grubb fertilizer to try to get rid of them..there really good size holes about the size of a quarter.What should i do about this
    we think its birds feeding off of grubs and making little holes to get a t them are we right?what can we do ?/??
  2. LawnPro in NC

LawnPro in NC LawnSite Member

Maybe Squirrells hiding nuts
  3. gslam88

gslam88 LawnSite Member

It could be moles or it could be skunks going after the moles.

Does it seem like there are a lot of tunnels and raised area around? that might be moles,

Or strangley enough it could even be a dog. Just a I starting writing this I remember my wife watching one of my St. Bernards running around the yard chasing something for a little bit. Dug down and came up with a mole and killed it.... stranger things around here

Pete :confused:
  4. AGLA

AGLA LawnSite Bronze Member

Pull at the grass or drag your toe accross it. If the grass lifts right up, its grubs. The little holes could be from squirrels & nuts, but if the grass is loose it is probably skunks eating grubs. When the grubs are not so deep and the crows figure it out it will look like someone rototilled it.
  5. LawnLad

LawnLad LawnSite Senior Member

I wouldn't apply a grub app unless you know it's grubs, it could be so many other things. To properly treat an insect or pest, you need to understand the life cycle and the best time to treat.