Grubs

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by Drivefaster35, Apr 4, 2006.

1. Drivefaster35

Drivefaster35 LawnSite Senior Member
    from Midwest

Hey what do you midwestern guys do for people that have grub problems in the lawn already and you need to kill them out ASAP and keep them out how often do u apply and at what rate etc..:drinkup:

2. Xterminator

Xterminator LawnSite Senior Member

I use Round up

3. eruuska

eruuska LawnSite Senior Member

RoundUp? What makes you answer a serious question like that?

I'm no grub expert, but if you have a grub problem, Merit does pretty well, but it's best applied in July or so, when the new grubs are most vulnerable. But if you've got a problem now, I'd go ahead and use it now. It'll still help. Then use it again in July.

4. mikesturf

mikesturf LawnSite Senior Member

:dizzy: sorry, both previous answers are wrong. To kill grubs now, you need Dylox. To prevent them this fall and next spring-Merit or Mach II.

5. MStine315

MStine315 LawnSite Senior Member

Ditto Mikesturf. Dylox now if it's bad enough for a "rescue" treatment AND Merit (grub-ex) in June. Merit WON'T work now. It has to be applied around egg hatch. The grubs are too mature now for it to work. I might spot treat the worst areas with Dylox or skip it like I said if you can wait until June. The Merit will give the customer the best bang for their buck. Also remember both treatments HAVE to be watered in to be effective. Good luck, Marc

6. mruth77

mruth77 LawnSite Member

Can the average homeowner purchase Dylox and Merit

7. NattyLawn

NattyLawn LawnSite Bronze Member

Just sent out by UMASS: