1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by shea, Feb 20, 2007.

1. shea

shea LawnSite Member

We primarily take care of residential lawns with a few commercial thrown in. I've been thinking about looking into the Home Owner Associations. Do you guys have any experience with H.O.A.s good or bad?
  2. Runner

Runner LawnSite Fanatic

I was just going to reply....I've had some good experiences with a few h.o.a.s. in my day, but then I saw the thread was about associations....:laugh:

No, in all seriousness, if you do a search, there is a world of information on this very subject.
  3. Swampy

Swampy LawnSite Bronze Member

They are alright. Sometimes the President or Vice President steps on your toes.
  4. LawnSharks

LawnSharks LawnSite Senior Member

What we usually find is that the bidding process and offering goes through a secondary management company. These companies are usually fair and their main concern is getting the job done RIGHT. If not, the HOA Board's raise he%$ with them. These are usually pretty profitable opportunities.
    Good luck!! Spring is coming and Grass is growing!
  5. shea

shea LawnSite Member

Thanks for the input.
  6. bbpropmaint

bbpropmaint LawnSite Member

i service 3 at this time more next year ..its contract money so you get paid regardless of whetehr the grass grows or not...pita though..just remember there the customer..any complaints request tell them to go through the management company..no matter how good of a job you do there will always be someone that gonna complain
  7. Grass Kickin

Grass Kickin LawnSite Member