1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

H2B program full

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Pacific Nursery, Jan 20, 2005.

1. Pacific Nursery

Pacific Nursery LawnSite Member

I've been using workers from the H2B program for four years, this would be my fifth. Mostly the same guys, just adding more each year as necessary.
    Today I have been informed that INS is not giving out anymore visas. :realmad: I started the process in the fall of last year, just like every year.
    This is really going to be a BIG problem. Can't find local help to match/meet the quality of workmanship and level of dedication that my foreign workers had. Not to mention that some of them had become like family.
    I've shot off a letter to my senators and representative.
    What can I do? Any other way to get these guys back? :help:
  2. llama

llama LawnSite Member

Hire Americans and help the economy.
  3. Pacific Nursery

If these are the kind of smart a** answers I'm going to get, keep them to yourself.
  4. grassyfras

grassyfras LawnSite Bronze Member

Saw you were from St. Louis have a friend that uses hispanic and doesnt go through H2b uses the local ones. Call me if you like 795-2872. -Ted
  5. No Lawncares

No Lawncares LawnSite Member

Not trying to ba an a-s, but why would you use non americans? That is why this country is so screwed up, people like you would rather pay them 8 an hour vs paying an american 10 or 12. Then you complain when our economy takes a turn and nobody can afford your services. What really gets me is you pay them guys then they send all that money back to their relatives in various countries and that money dosent help the country YOU live in. SMART.
  6. Victo

Victo LawnSite Member