HAHAHA look at the new guy

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by iwannamow, Oct 18, 2005.

1. iwannamow

iwannamow LawnSite Member

I am interested in starting a lawncare business but dont have anything! Well actually I have about 1000 bucks and a jeep cherokee...no equipment, no trailer! I was thinking the best way to start off small is advertising for some snow removal this winter (I live in Denver Colorado) then trying to rent some equipment in the spring and summer to get going. PLEASE HELP!!! What should I do first and how should I get customers? And how do I find out all how to do what every season (like areating in the spring, then fertilizing and then mowing) I am VERY interested in doing this but I just need some advise on how to do it....Oh do you guys make pretty good money doing it?

2. byronky

byronky LawnSite Member

i started learning by working for someone else....but when i got started on my own i was forced to figure things out and research...got my first customers through friends than did door hanging for the first three years now everything comes in word of mouth....as for the money i am no bill gates..hahah

3. PMLAWN

PMLAWN LawnSite Gold Member

Put the money in the bank and get a job. Build the cash up to about 5K. You will go broke renting stuff for day to day operations.
    Buy some books on lawncare and read read read.
    Use the search button above.
    Buy commercial equipment if you can, even if it is used.
    Start part time with a few accounts and keep the job.
    Grow slow.

4. iwannamow

iwannamow LawnSite Member