Hand Cutters?????????????

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by jaredslawncare, Jul 28, 2003.

1. jaredslawncare

jaredslawncare LawnSite Member

i was just wondering do any of you use hand cutters to trim shrubs, i was driving by a bank and saw another LCO trimming shrubs with hand cutters, not those little ones with the 1/2 in blades but the one with like a foot long balde on them, I couldnt understand why the gas cutters wouldnt be more efficent I know they must do this permanently because I saw them doing it a a resedential afew weeks ago, is there any benefeit to them doing this???

2. A1 Grass

A1 Grass LawnSite Senior Member

I'm relatively new to the business, but I use hand-shears on a lot of trimming jobs. Once I get an Echo Pole-Trimmer I may change my mind, but I can fly with them and they make it a lot easier to get a precise cut... for me.

I am pretty sure that gas trimmers or not, I will still use the hand shears from time to time.

3. Live4Mowin'

Live4Mowin' LawnSite Member

hand shears are my most fuel efficient tools :D

4. Rhett

Rhett LawnSite Bronze Member

Had a pair. Just couldn't figure out how to get them started:confused:

5. NCSULandscaper

NCSULandscaper Banned

I use gas powered hedge trimmers on many of my shrubs, however i use my felco hand pruners to shape up boxwoods.

6. kickin sum grass

kickin sum grass LawnSite Senior Member

It always amazes me at how many people in this business think it is ok to use gas powered prunners on ALL shrubs.

This is not directed at anyone who has responded to this or any other post.