hand problem

Discussion in 'General Industry Discussions' started by mowin4$, Dec 16, 2006.

1. mowin4$

mowin4$ LawnSite Member

im a owner operator for 10 yrs now and experiencing hand problems.my hands hurt,sometimes tingle,and have joint pains.seems like arthrits & carpol tunnel.any one else have these problems after years of using walk behind mowers?i think there are not many more years left for me to keep going.i do @ 30 accounts per week on a p/t basis.used to do as many as 65 /wk with a partner.

2. topsites

topsites LawnSite Fanatic

Motrin always takes my pain away.
    So do higher prices.
    Btw, your Wb is T-bar controlled, yes?

3. apowell18

apowell18 LawnSite Member

you are looking at some nerve issues from repetitive operations...possibly carpal tunnel as well...talk to your doctor...they have tests that will determine what it is...my hands tingle from time to time and go numb every now and then...i work assembly line and we have big problems with nerves and carpal tunnel...my issue is my ulna nerve that runs along the inside of the elbow...anyway...talk to your doctor and schedule some tests, keep it in check and find out now before it gets worse...there are many horror stories at work about people waiting too long and needing surgeries

4. gqnine44

gqnine44 LawnSite Senior Member

Probably Carpal Tunnel...Get the surgery and you'll be back in business.

5. mowin4$

mowin4$ LawnSite Member

i used scag walks for 9 years w/ pistol grips.this year i bought a stander and it helped a lot.

6. Allens LawnCare

Allens LawnCare LawnSite Senior Member

My fathers a fisherman and has the same issue he actually would drop his fork while eating. He's a tough guy but was nervous about the surgery. He had it done with scopes so the scaring and healing down time was low. Get the surgery, you'll enjoy mowing again

7. jslandscapecompany

jslandscapecompany LawnSite Member