Handyman Online

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by JimLewis, Jan 19, 2001.

1. JimLewis

JimLewis LawnSite Fanatic

Anyone else been using handyman online to get leads? I have been using them for about 3 months now. Just wanted to compare notes.

2. geogunn

geogunn LawnSite Gold Member
    from TN

jim--why don't you share your experience with us? thanks.

GEO

3. awm

awm LawnSite Gold Member

Yes jim i am a handy man,MODERATELY HANDY,
    How does it work.

4. Man Joe

Man Joe LawnSite Member

Jim,Did two handyman type jobs this week. Money was good and enjoyed keeping busy.Am not familiar with handyman online.
    Could you give us some more information?

5. JimLewis

Sorry guys. I was just tired of typing last night so I made the post brief. I will explain...

Handyman online (.com) is a company where people go to find a contractor. A client will call, explain what type of service they need and then handiman calls 3 such contractors and has them contact the new client to give the new client bids. The client wins because they get qualified, proven contractor's and they get 2-3 bids with just one call. It's also free to the client. Handyman wins because they collect a fee for each referral they give to a contractor. Whether or not the contractor gets the job.

The referral fee varies by type of job. For landsacape maintenance referrals I think I pay like $30. For landscape design and installation I pay around $90. For irrigation system installs I pay around $70. One plus is they give out a 25% kick back on the money you gave them every 3 months.

Handyman gives me a free alpha pager and when they get a call I am paged with the clients address, phones, and type of work. It's my duty to get back to the client within 24 hours and make arrangments to give them a bid.