Harley Rake qestions.

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by Kelly's Landscaping, Aug 24, 2004.

1. Kelly's Landscaping

Kelly's Landscaping LawnSite Platinum Member

I am trying to put together a bid on a new lawn to fix what some contractor did it is real ugly. The contractor removed all the topsoil and put it on his lawn he lives on the same street of 8 homes he has the only decent lawn on the rd. Here are my questions I have never used a Harley rake before. The lawn is so rocky nothing will grow they range from small rocks to water melon size the square footage of lawn is 48,000 sq ft. From what I have seen it’s going to produce 40-50 yards of rock. What can I expect to do per hour with a Harley rake as far as going over the lawn? And how much build up can I get before I need to start making a pile for all the rocks that are getting in my way? As you can see we have a little over an acre what I am trying to figure out is how long I am going to be on this phase of the job so I can price it correctly and since I have never done this before I cannot fall back on personal experience.

2. olderthandirt

olderthandirt LawnSite Platinum Member
    from here

Matt if I understand you right you want to know how long it will take to use a harley rake on an acre of rocky ground? If that is correct 1 day is all it will take, windrow the rocks until they start to fall back into the path your doing or they just get to high. start another section and do the same. When you have all the rocks in rows change to a bucket and pile them up or load them out, then just make a final pass to clean and prep the whole acre for seed. Mac

3. Kelly's Landscaping