1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

have 16ft trailer but want to use truck??

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by kevin11946ny, May 26, 2007.

1. kevin11946ny

kevin11946ny LawnSite Member

I'm new to the business and this 16 ft trailer is killing my gas mileage plus i never realized how hard it is to manuever. People said how dangerous it is to use ramps for your pick up truck...id like to get ramps for the truck so i dont need to tow a ton trailer evertime i cut a lawn. Im getting used to my wb mower 52" 500lbs....heard how dangerous this could be ,,,,,i dont want to injure myself...lol..loading this up

what do you guys think?
  2. Palmer'sLS

Palmer'sLS LawnSite Senior Member

get a cheap 5x8 or something from the tractor supply...
  3. lazyike

lazyike LawnSite Senior Member

Was at another lco's funeral the other day because he had his wb on the back of a truck, apparently as he was unloading it he slipped and when he fell he pulled the mower off the ramps, it landed on top of him. He was found by his brother a couple of days later ( mowing an old country church cemetery) :(

Always leave your route with a loved one.
  4. Rax

Rax LawnSite Member

I use ramparts to put everything in my F150. Works great.
    Plus, you can use the Ramparts to get your mower up customer's walls if you need too. Ditched my trailer months ago...best thing I've ever done.
    I can park my setup anywhere. Great for mid-urban communities.
    I mulch all properties, so there are no clippings to worry about.
    Just make sure you're using hard wood planks for the Ramparts.
  5. old oak lawn

old oak lawn LawnSite Senior Member