Hazards of the Job

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by JJ Lawn, Aug 13, 2001.

1. JJ Lawn

JJ Lawn LawnSite Senior Member

This is a question about some of the hazard's of the job that you run into while mowing.

Today is the second time this month that I have come across used syringes laying in the grass on some of my properties that I mow. I am almost sure that they were not used for administering insulin. I used a pair of tongs to pick them up, wrapped them in newspaper and disposed of them in a trash bin.

I know that folks are pretty careful of needles while in a hospital environment, but was wondering how hazardous are needles that have been laying in the sun, for a few days or so? Could someone become infected with hepatitis, aids, etc. if one should be stuck by one of them?

Jim

2. E-man

E-man LawnSite Member
    from PA

I am no doctor but I would imagine you would be able to become infected. I think you did the right thing disposing of it by using tongs and not touching it.. I would let the property owners know what you are finding so they can be a little more cautious. Would not want someone getting a needle stuck in their foot or somthing.

3. mdb landscaping

mdb landscaping LawnSite Silver Member

its crucial to watch out for low lying tree branches. ive knocked my forehead a few times. i must of looked funny swearing to myself.

4. yardboyltd

yardboyltd LawnSite Senior Member

yes, definently tell the owner. I walk barefoot all the time in my yard. In health class the instructor told us that HIV dies when it comes in contact with air and sunlight. Still there could be some serviving inside. Next you should have called the hospital and asked if you could dispose of them. Alot of them have onsite biohazard disposal. I'd hate to think of the trash guys who is sorting trash and after lots of smashing the needle is poking through the paper. (At least you took some precaution.)