Headaches in the heat?

Discussion in 'General Industry Discussions' started by ProStreetCamaro, Jun 24, 2006.

1. ProStreetCamaro

ProStreetCamaro LawnSite Platinum Member

Anybody else get bad headachs when ever it is hot out while your working? I get them all the time and it annoying.

2. jimmbo407

jimmbo407 LawnSite Member

If you are getting headaches in the heat, I would say that is a sign of heat exhaustion, and or dehydration. I would drink more water and get a wide brimmed hat. If that doesnt help keep on drink fluids and put cool items in your armpits. They even make cooling vests now, I think you can get them at motorcycle shops, I'm not positive on this but I have heard that from some of my friends that ride.

I am a full time firefighter/paramedic so I am not talking out of my butt. Headaches with working in the sun and heat is simply your body telling you that your over doing it. Listen to your body.

Also I get headaches if I don't get a cup of coffee in the morning. That would happen toward evening however. Make sure you drink lots and lots of water. More water that gatarade type drinks. No pop, soda ect. The older you get the less stress you can put on your body before it starts to complain.

Hope this helps.:drinkup:

3. Audrey

Audrey LawnSite Senior Member
    from Pa.

I get them. Usually they start around 1 or 2 on the really hot days.

A

4. ProStreetCamaro

ProStreetCamaro LawnSite Platinum Member

My big problem is water gives me stomach aches. I drink alot of pepsi and do tend to drink it while working but for the most part I drink gatorade which I figure has got to better than soda. Maybe I should just try to force myself to drink water and get use to it.

5. olderthandirt

olderthandirt LawnSite Platinum Member
    from here

Pretty much sums up life :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: and dam the truth gives me a headache

6. PLM-1

PLM-1 LawnSite Bronze Member

Just puke a couple of times. ... you'll be alright! LOL