Health Insurance Company

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by boxoffire, Mar 13, 2005.

1. boxoffire

boxoffire LawnSite Member

Anyone ever heard of MidWest Life insurance company (midwestlife.com) for their health insurance needs? Guy called me the other day quoating me about $75 less per month on health/dental coverage for myself only. Said they have been in biz for 45 years and specialize in helping small biz owners like myself. Wants to come by my house this week and compare with my BCBS policy and explain how I can save money with their plan and get just as much benefit. I told him that I would need to know for sure before leaving a very reputable complany like BCBS for my health insurance needs. It is my first year in biz by myself and I sure could use the extra $75 in savings for other things. May not make much my first year. I wonder how much BCBS would penalize you if you leave them and reapply back with them down the road. Probably wouldn't matter to them. Thanks for replies. Good luck out there. Also more info at www.affordableservices.org

2. mastercare

mastercare LawnSite Senior Member

I am assuming that Midwest life is actually Midwest Security. Being that I'm a health insurance agent here in MI, I can tell you that they're an excellent company. Their prices are great for small groups, but not as competitive on the individual side. For that, I would suggest Humana.
    BCBS is very expensive. The reason is that they are a Non-profit organization. Becuase of this, they must accept everyone regardless of health conditions. This in turn, raises premiums for EVERYONE who has their policies. If you have health problems and can't get decent coverage anywhere else, BC is a great option. IF you're healthy, just about any ins company can beat their prices.

3. KLR

KLR LawnSite Member
    from Zone 6

mid-west national life ins. co. of tennessee...i dont know if its the same as mid-west security or not.