Hedge bed removal

Discussion in 'Turf Renovation' started by Landscaping-newb, Mar 17, 2010.

1. Landscaping-newb

Landscaping-newb LawnSite Member

I recently purchased a home back in November which sits on a corner lot. The previous owner had planted run of boxwood hedges that cover the entire front perimeter of the yard. I would guess there are probably close to 40-50 total hedges. Due to some neglect and poor maintenance of the previous owner the look of his design is pretty nasty.
    So, I am going to be removing every hedge and filling the entire area with grass seed. I am not a landscaping professional and this is my first home. Common sense tells me to remove the hedges, weeds, roots and rocks first and conserving as much soil from the hedges as possible. Second, preparing the existing soil by hand raking, tilling, etc. Throwing a thin layer of new top soil in, adding seed, cover seed with another layer of top soil, rolling the area or atleast making sure it's level, covering with hay, and then watering 3-4 times a day. I also read that I should use a starter fertilizer as well, but I wasnt sure when to apply.
    If there are any experienced landscapers in here that could share some wisdom, I would greatly appreciate it! Thanks a bunch!

2. cozymonkey

cozymonkey LawnSite Member

I would use sod instead of seed. Just my opinion

3. EastCoast

EastCoast LawnSite Senior Member

The removal of the hedges, especially the roots will be your biggest challenge.

Make sure you remove as much of the roots as possible to insure the grass will have a good area to grow. If the seed/sod doesn't have the ability to dig it's roots in deep enough it won't survive your summer, depending on where you live.
    Posted via Mobile Device

4. gardiner

gardiner LawnSite Member

you can put a ad on craiglist (free hedges u dig them up )
    will cut back on your labor .

5. Landscaping-newb