Hedge trimmer tearing leaves, ect.

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by Island Lawn, Jun 14, 2001.

1. Island Lawn

Island Lawn LawnSite Senior Member

Practically brand new and I suspect they bades need sharpening already. They probably weren't sharp to begin with!

My dealer is the largest around, has always done me right, and has a good reputation. But, I get laughs every time I mention the word "sharp" and they give me a look like I'm an ignorant green newbie. Whether talking mowers or hedge trimmers.

The guys @ Lesco have told me the same about mower blades. "They dont need to be too sharp"

It just dosen't seem to be a priority to anyone I have talked to about it except the pros @ lawnsite.

I'm of a different mindset.
    I used to know this old wood carver. For fun, he would carve figures out of matchsticks using an old exacto knife. It looked well used, but he claimed it was sharper than when he took it out of the packaging.
    There seems to be an art to the science of sharpening!

I searhed for sharpening hed trimmers and didn't come up with much.
    My owners manual suggest a flat crosscut file.
    Anybody got any experience with doing this by hand?

What I'm trying to accomplish is to be able to trim this particular Confederate Jessamine without tearing it and causing unsightly leaf scaring. I had to do it with manual shears today.
    Please help.
  2. EJK2352

EJK2352 LawnSite Bronze Member

Dear Island Lawn,
    You didn't mention what brand of hedge trimmers you have,gas or
    electric etc.. Let me know and I can possibly help you out.
    Later, ED
  3. eskals

eskals LawnSite Member

I am not real sure on the sharpness thing, but common sense would dictate that the sharper the better. However, it seems like it would take quite a bit to dull those blades. I usually go pretty slow when doing the trimming, and don't seem to tear the leaves and such.

4. greens1

greens1 LawnSite Senior Member