1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Hello all, new to board.

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by baldbeefman, Apr 7, 2001.

1. baldbeefman

baldbeefman LawnSite Member

I'm a firefighter and just started mowing on the side. I've named my business "Veteran Lawn Care". On my business cards I have a flag in the background and I thought this would hit a soft spot in those out there that are still patriotic. I haven't been to lucky advertising yet though. The jobs I have done, I think I undercharged, because I'm getting impatient. I was thinking about changing my name to something catchy related to lawn care, what do you guys think?
  2. 1MajorTom

1MajorTom Senior Moderator

Welcome to Lawnsite. :)

What forms of advertising are you doing? The more you saturate your area with your name and your services, the more likely you will find the customers. Get a few, then they refer you to someone, and so on and so on.

I don't think you necessarily need to change your name. You just have to get your name out there.

Good luck
  3. Eric ELM

Eric ELM Husband, Father, Friend, Angel

The word NEW scares a lot of customers. EXPERIENCE is what they like to hear. I would pass out flyers in the areas you want to work do it asap since it's mowing time in most areas. Good Luck
  4. Randy Scott

Randy Scott LawnSite Bronze Member