Hello I am new to the business

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Lawn Neophyte, Apr 19, 2008.

1. Lawn Neophyte

Lawn Neophyte LawnSite Member

I'm seriously considering entering the lawn mowing profession. I enjoy outdoor work and working for myself.

I would really appreciate if someone can critique my "business plan":

1) I will purchase a zero turn mower, trimmer, and blower.

2) I plan on working on residential properties in my neck of the woods.

3) I still don't know how much to charge, but $25 per cut seems fair here in Palm Bay, FL.

4) I don't have a clue about licensing and such. Any help on advice would be appreciated.

Thanks. I would be more than willing to answer any questions.
  2. TNT LawnCare Inc.

TNT LawnCare Inc. LawnSite Bronze Member

Get yourself a tax ID. #, & Insurance. Get the clients ,try to keep your route tight. Nothing wrong with getting a used ZTR. GOOD LUCK.
  3. Turfrific

Turfrific LawnSite Member

$25 is low balling unless your just going to mow it. $35 and up
  4. Grass Happens

Grass Happens LawnSite Senior Member

I think in FL 25 is probably pretty decent since they get a lot more cuttings in a season. Hell 25 still seems to be the price stuck in everybody's head here, and we get like 24 weeks of mowing.
  5. Turfrific

Turfrific LawnSite Member

well i can't see myself doing the edging and trim then use my blower for under $35. unless you have several lawns to mow in the same area.
  6. Lawn Neophyte

Lawn Neophyte LawnSite Member

Thanks for the responses guys.

The reason why I want to charge $25 per cut is because the competition charges less for more.

I know a guy who charges $18 per cut, which includes mowing, trimming, and blowing. If I were to charge 35 and up I might not get a lot of customers.

But who knows, it maight just work.
  7. Yater

Yater LawnSite Senior Member