Hello, im new here

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by ashskyler, Dec 27, 2006.

1. ashskyler

ashskyler LawnSite Member
    from Georgia

I live in Georgia and im starting a lawncare biz with my father in law in the spring. I have never done this type of work before and im not sure yet of how in depth we will go but for starters i think we will mainly just cut lawns and trim hedges etc, all the basic stuff. But im mainly interested in aquiring contracts for highway, interstate and other lawn areas that are not residential or small business owned. Any ideas on where i can go about bidding on these sort of contracts? Thanks in advance!
  2. ashskyler

from Georgia

Thanks for all the feedback everyone. You have made me feel so welcome.
  3. Prestige-Lawncare

Prestige-Lawncare LawnSite Senior Member

First off .. Welcome to Lawnsite! There are a lot of people here with some good advice to share ... as well as quite a few "opinioniated" posts as well. You'll get pretty good at sorting through some of these as time goes by.

Many people have probably been somewhat reluctant to post on this question simply because many don't have any experience on the topic of your question (as I don't either). Most all of the property like which you are talking about (around State and Interstate highways) is maintained by companies under contract with local or state offices. I would imagine that to get one of these contracts you would have to be a decent sized maintenance company, with all the proper equipment to do these jobs. This equipment is nothing like what your average LCO uses, nor is the work really anything like most on this board do.

Stick around though ... you will find a lot of good advice on other issues concerning commercial and residential lawn care.

4. GreenN'Clean

GreenN'Clean LawnSite Bronze Member