Hello Land Clearers (brush cutters, mulchers)

Discussion in 'Heavy Equipment & Pavement' started by rutwad, Aug 1, 2006.

1. rutwad

rutwad LawnSite Member
    from Alabama

Guys I would really like any advice you can offer me. I have considered purchasing an ASV RC-100 and Magnum mulcher attachment. I have my concerns about this. I understand the hourly rates pay good, but is there a high demand for the service these machines can provide.

Do you find yourselves staying busy doing this type of work?
    Owner/operator or someone operate for you?
    Positive/negative things you have discovered?
    Anything you can offer me I would really appreciate it. Newbie here and I am concerned about taking the risk. I am in Alabama.
    Trying to think it through, I thought I may buy some other attachments incase the mulching business got slow. I could even resort to equipment hauling from local auction sites on bad weather days.

Anything?

Thanks in advance

2. janb

janb LawnSite Senior Member

check these threads out (also do some searching)
    http://www.lawnsite.com/showthread.php?t=153279&highlight=business

http://www.lawnsite.com/showthread.php?t=149099

http://www.lawnsite.com/showthread.php?t=132144

local guys are charging $130 to $150/hr, but I can't stay busy at 1/2 that rate. Tho I don't have one of those $100,000+ shredding machines. They can do a very nice job, but too much capital $$ for me (+ 285 days of rain, = limited season) this type of clearing can be 'discretionary' spending for the normal landowner, (they don't part with $500 for 4 hrs real easy) but the realtors / speculators will keep you pretty busy (in a high growth area)

I have turned down a lot of small (2 hr) tractor / brush-dumptruck jobs lately

3. ksss

ksss LawnSite Fanatic