Hello

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by JodyG, Dec 17, 2009.

1. JodyG

JodyG LawnSite Member

I have been lurking around these forums for the past couple of years. My background is mainly in commercial sitework & concrete. I have worked for or co-owned grading companies and a concrete foundation company. In the late 90’s I owned a small landscape installation crew putting in new yards for builders and up until two years ago I had a 2-men maintenance crew mowing model homes and spec homes for builders. Unfortunately the building market is gone and so is the crew.

I would like to thank the professionals who post here. I have taken note of your advice and used it in the past. I know by reading these posts how frustrating some of the questions are. I also know how frustrating your competition is. We are experiencing the same level of low balling in our industry.

For myself I have decided that I want to start a part time solo operation in the spring. I have enough connections to pick up maybe 8 – 10 accounts. My immediate goal is to subsidize my income next year and then work towards a full time venture in 2011. My local market area is varied. We have small cluster homes to horse ranches. The accounts I am looking at are half acre or smaller sites. I plan on using a 36” WB to start with. I already have most of the professional quality power tools that I purchased two years ago.

I look forward to reading and posting on this forum…

2. JFGauvreau

JFGauvreau LawnSite Bronze Member

hello and welcome to the forums!

I myself am working for a concrete foundation company to save up money to buy my equipment for my new company next spring.

Concrete foundation has a lot of money to be made with, our company does like 1-2 home foundation a day, but the equipment is very expensive lol

3. JodyG

JodyG LawnSite Member