Help a brother out

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by GrassGuzzler, Jun 4, 2005.

1. GrassGuzzler

GrassGuzzler LawnSite Member
    from N.E. OK

I'm a solo operator in my 3rd year. I don't have another job - this is it. In the summer it's mowing, in the fall it's leaves, in the winter it's firewood, and anytime of year I do the occasional odd job.

I've come to the conclusion that I'll never be able to make what I would consider a good living the way things are. So, I would like to slowly get into fertilizing and pesticides as I hear it's considerably more profitable than mowing. Unfortunately, I know very little about it so I could really use some tips and advice.

Getting into it slowly (maybe 10-20 yards next year), what's the least amount of equipment I would need? A backpack sprayer and a push spreader?

How can I learn about the types of grass, types of chemicals, when to apply, etc.? Is there a certain book you would recommend?

Do I have to have a license here in Oklahoma? If so, where do I go to get one?

What are the big mistakes I should avoid as a rookie?

How much more profit can a guy expect to make doing this as opposed to mowing?

Thanks everyone!

2. ArizPestWeed

ArizPestWeed LawnSite Bronze Member

You need to learn by the school of hard knocks , like we did .
    Every one has a different experience

3. Check out the "Elements of Business" forum and the "Just Starting" forum for stories and advice.

I also would suggest that you evaluate your present price and expense structure for your business if you feel your not getting the income for the work you're doing. Improper pricing is a fatal flaw in any business plan, and is an easy mistake to make. If you happen to be under pricing (and I am not saying you are), then your problem will not necessarily get solved by transitioning to a fert/weed control service.

Good Luck

4. PTP

PTP LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Tulsa