Help a newb

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by GroundUp, Jan 15, 2006.

1. GroundUp

GroundUp LawnSite Member

Ok. I'm very excited and ambitious. I'm on a very limited budget. Ive bought a used Zturn 42". A small truck and a small trailer. of course i also have a small 22" push mower and a weed wacker. What else do i need? I'm not experienced, So im interested on the best way to start out. Im looking to jump into this head first. What other services can i add to my flyer besides mowing lawns? also what kind of equip would i need to do these jobs. For somebody that doesnt have 10k plus to start out what would you suggest? (In other words, for somebody that HAS to start small and build his way up. How would you go about doing this?)

CLARK LAWN LawnSite Silver Member

first make sur this is what you want to do before you buy alot on equipment. then decide what you want to get into and read as much about it as possible when istarted getting into more than maintenance i spent hours in the library reading up on stuff. A good service for the spring would be to offer clean-up usaually start doing them about a month before we start mowing.low investment and can make some decent cash
  3. GroundUp

GroundUp LawnSite Member

Oh I'm sure this is what i want to do. Even if the market is saturated (which its not) I could push the others out with quality persistance and hardwork. Some people want to do it to make a quick buck. Not me. I want to do this for a living. Anyway, cleanup sounds nice. But could you be more specific? And you didnt really answer my question. but thanks for the reply non-the-less.:waving:

oh yea. And ive been reading ALL DAY EVERYDAY for the past month (at least)
    but the more advice i get. the better
  4. dcondon

dcondon LawnSite Silver Member

Don't forget a backpack blower.:waving:
  5. goodgreen

goodgreen LawnSite Senior Member

I agree....a backpack blower is a huge addition.
  6. out4now

out4now LawnSite Bronze Member