1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

help for 2004 spring season

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by cutpro2004, Nov 21, 2003.

1. cutpro2004

cutpro2004 LawnSite Member

im new to lawn site and am very excited about alot of the posts that iv read thus far. im new in this business i did a few lawns this year but not very many, i would appreciate any and all help i can get on starting fresh from scratch im treating 2004 as my first year. i plan on going at it hard i really enjoy this work and love the freedom of having my own business. for ex: i cut one yard that took me about an hour and a half to cut i charged the lady by the hour at the rate of 14$ DOLLARS, i have read quite a few posts and i know this is ridiculously low, what would you guys charge for that type of yard i was using a 21" mower. also during the fall of last year i did a big yard of leaves took about 24 hours
    about 3 days of work i charged 15$ an hour got 360$ for the job ive thought about charging by the bag of leaves any where from 3$ to 5$ a bag. what do you guys that have done this for a while do. i really would appreciate ant help i can get in these matters, also any help about insurance,equip, and grass cut pricing would be greatly appreciated. thanks in advance for help!:waving:
  2. Rustic Goat

Rustic Goat LawnSite Bronze Member

It's easy to for anyone here to say you're working WAY TOO CHEAP, but what you charge depends on many things.

-What's the going rate in your area?

-What do you feel your production rate is like? Took you 1 1/2 hr. on your example. Do you feel you did it as fast as it's possible to do it? Could you get it done in an hour or less if it was was of at least 10 or 12 or more lawns you had to do in one day?