help from you seasoned experts

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by Flipper, Mar 21, 2002.

1. Flipper

Flipper LawnSite Member
    from atlanta

This is my first season in the biz. My first estimate is a REALLY big one. About three thousand dollars in plants and bushes, and I figure about 30 man hours labor. They want a whole lot of stuff done. I'll be a lucky sucker if I bid this one right. I think I have a good bead on it though from reading so much on here.

The second estimate is a complete re-seeding of an already established lawn. She wants the whole lawn tilled up, and reseeded. ( I don't know yet why the lawn is bad - but will have to find out so it does not happen again) . The lawn is approx 1/2 acre, she says.

--Heres what I need help with. This is hard to estimate cause I've never done this before. I figure the best way to till the yard is with a tractor and tiller attachment. ( Anything better?) Then rake out, smooth, spread seed, cover with straw, and water. And of course set the spreader to the recommended setting for the seed. Does this sound about right?

So, in gereral, can you well seasoned experts give me a guesstimate on the labor to charge for this. I understand I have to include my expences and materials. I just have no idea how long this should take.

Thanks alot !!!

2. paul

paul Lawnsite Addict

First off never take anyones word on measurements, do it your self! Next take soil samples and tissue samples and find out whats wrong with the yard. Then do what is nessary to fix the problems.

3. Shawn Burns

Shawn Burns LawnSite Member
    from N.C.