Help! How to avoid corporal tunnel syndrom and numbing fingers?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by green-pa, May 11, 2007.

1. green-pa

green-pa LawnSite Senior Member

This is my first year and I usually have 20-30 yards I cut each week and they avg about 1/6 acre. I use a $500 lowes John Deer 21 in and a $120 troy built trimmer and a $100 poulon pro blower. I spend about 20-25 hours/week I estimate. No help. For the past several weeks my hands ( mainly the right one) aches in the morning when I wake up, hurts badly when I try to write with it ( at least in the morning ), and has partial numbness at times. :cry: It's really scary to me. I got the best equip I could afford, but would commercial equip be much less vibration or better on my hands? I think it may mainly be the trimmer that is causing it cause I find myself switching hands a lot more cause of discomfort. If I bought a commercial trimmer, would that solve it? I started using gloves but maybe they're not thick enough. Any ideas? If I should find a riding mower would that be easier? Any and all help would be much appreciated cause I'm also a musician so healthy fingers are crucial!

thanks in advance!

2. MarcSmith

MarcSmith LawnSite Fanatic

try some finglress gloves with gel palms or try to modify the grips on the string trimmer to something better. fo to a motorcycles shop....Closed cell foam grips worked th e best for me

I had the same problem on my motorcycle...the buzziness made my throttle hand feel like it was going to sleep...

3. green-pa

ok, I'll check into that! Thanks MarcSmith! By the way, did u say it was your trimmer also ( and not mower ) that caused the majority of your numbness?

4. PatriotLandscape

PatriotLandscape LawnSite Bronze Member
    from MA

just for your info. it is carpal tunnel syndrome. I had a co-worker with it and he wore gloves to help with it as well.

5. green-pa