HELP... I have gotten in TOO DEEP!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by JShe8918, Mar 25, 2008.

1. JShe8918

JShe8918 LawnSite Senior Member

This is my first year offering a full service operation. Used to be mow blow edge go. the basics mainly. Well this year i don't have my applicators license so i sub this out to another company in town. Well a new customer called from 40 miles away wanting me to come to her house and give her a estimate for pesticides, pre emergence, post emergence, and fertilization. Wants a yearly contract AND wants me there at 9.30 in the morning tommorrow with prices by two days later. Well how will i get an estimate from my sub contractor for the property with out him driving to look at it??? Also she said that she had a 13 year old grandson inwhich she was going to give first choice to do the cutting and all that jazz. HELP ME.... Have you ever been in a similar situation.

2. Az Gardener

Az Gardener LawnSite Gold Member

Its your business, you have to know when to say no.

"Sorry you are not in my market area"

"I only provide full service, no mow no spray or fertilize"

"My insurance wont cover applications only. Applications have to be an incidental part of the overall contract otherwise I am classified as a applicator not a lawn service."

Pick your reason to tell her why you are not interested, but your time has value and this woman will likely just waste yours.

3. CleanCutMowers

CleanCutMowers LawnSite Member
    from SE MO

Just forget it. Do you really need it? 40 miles away and you wont make money on the fertilizing and you arent even sure if you are gonna mow the lawn. Number 1 thing that scares me is 40 miles :dizzy::dizzy:

4. dKoester

dKoester LawnSite Gold Member

Going there and back you will lose money on unproductive drive time.

5. Raven386

Raven386 LawnSite Silver Member
    from CT