Help Identifying & Idea Needed

Discussion in 'Homeowner Assistance Forum' started by Angelina23, May 16, 2008.

1. Angelina23

Angelina23 LawnSite Member

This is my first post here. I am also new to gardening. I have three plants in my backyard that I don't know what they are and what I should do with them.
    I also have three well caps that I don't know what to do with. Any ideas on how to jazz them up?

Could someone help me? Thank you very much in advance!
    (this is one of the areas that I am starting to work on)
  2. jkason

jkason LawnSite Senior Member

The contractor that put those well heads in ought to be shot.

Cover them over with grass/sod. Easy enough to get to them if you need to.
    Looks like you need to renovate that whole section of the lawn anyway.
  3. Newt*

Newt* LawnSite Member

Hi Angelina,

Your first plant could be one of many. I'm not that good at id from just leaves most of the time. It could be anything from tall phlox (not all have hairy stems) to one of the salvias. You may have to wait until it flowers for id. Are the stems square? That would make it a member of the mint family, though it doesn't have to smell like mint. It could even be some type of aster.

Rudbeckia aka Blackeyed Susan?

Your second pic looks like Achillea aka yarrow. Comes in many colors and can be floppy, especially in rich soil.

Your third one looks like some type of mum aka Chrysanthemum.

For your well covers I'm not sure what to suggest other then making a garden and incorporating the covers into it to look like stones or rocks. Maybe even putting some medium sized rocks on top of the covers to hide them and the handles, but not too many so you can't have access. If the tree in the background is close enough to make it feasable, remove the turf from the entire area and incorporate that tree into the garden. It would benefit from not having grass right up to the trunk anyway.

Here's some ideas for an island garden bed.