Help, Jacobsen vs Hustler

Discussion in 'Homeowner Assistance Forum' started by boejangles, Mar 5, 2005.

1. boejangles

boejangles LawnSite Member

Hello everyone, just a noob here trying to pick your brains.
    I'm trying to buy my first ZTR and after reading all sorts of posts I've narrowed it down to these two units.

The Hustler mini Z 36" deck 16hp Honda $3400, I didn't know anything about Hustlers untill yesterday. My closest dealer is 40 miles away.

The Jacobsen 48" deck with a 17.5 hp Briggs motor $4400 otd. Closest dealer is 8 miles away.

Here's my dilema, as usual I started low ($1200 tops) and creeped up to $4400 when I seen the Jacobsen offered to me at $1000.00 off list, sounded good to me!
    I then heard about the Hustlers and thought that if the quality was there and at $3400, might be worth looking into?

I'm only doing about 3/4 acre of grass and about a 1/4 acre of property line rough grass control. I really like buying quality equipment and it seems to me that Jacobsen is offering something good. The Hustler (from the photos I've seen) looks a little easier to control then the Jacobsen.

Can someone point me in the right direction or am I even looking at the right models?? Thanks!!

2. Travis Followell

Travis Followell LawnSite Silver Member
    from KY

The Hustlers are great mowers but you may want to look at a bigger one. Maybe a 42" mini fastrac or a 44" Fastrac. The Hustlers are very well built mowers and you wouldn't go wrong buying one.

The Jacobsen mower that you are looking at is a commercial grade mower with a residential engine on it. They are very good mowers also. They are the same as the Bob Cat and Bunton ztr's. This machine would be very conviniet since the dealer is only 8 miles away.

3. Advance The Man

Advance The Man LawnSite Member