Help Me Understand Liquid Application

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by coyotekid, Jun 26, 2006.

1. coyotekid

coyotekid LawnSite Member

Hi all--

I'm new to the large-scale liquid application of fertilizers/herbicides.

For example, I understand that when using a large skid-type tank setup in the back of a pickup, you mix the product being applied into the tank at a set amount...say 2 oz. per acre for instance.

Then you decide you'd like to apply that chemical via 3 gallons of water per acre.

But when just using a hand-held spray wand, how do you apply the product evenly?!

I understand that if using a boom-type sprayer, you can calculate the GPM flow of the nozzles, take into account the speed of the vehicle pulling the sprayer, and then use those numbers to figure the amount of chemical being applied per acre.

But how do you maintain equal and correct coverage when using a hand wand?

I know this is a real beginner question, but that's what I am!

2. turfsurfer

turfsurfer LawnSite Senior Member

Kid, I answer just about as nicely as anyone is going to on here. You are not going to get alot of help with this question because it's obvious that:
    1.) You are brand new and don't know what you are doing, as evident by the use rates you are quoting, and more importantly,
    2.) It's also obvious you are not licensed to apply chemicals since you would know the answers to these questions if you were.
    My answer is to contact your local regulatory board , get study materials, do the work, and get licensed. That way, you don't end up making a huge mistake which helps give the whole industry a black eye and costs you a lot of money and maybe a criminal record.

3. lawnservice

lawnservice LawnSite Senior Member

you need to calculate how many square feet you get out of a hand can sprayer.