HELP needed for St Augustine Lawn in Central Florida

Discussion in 'Turf Renovation' started by TheSodGod, Jan 23, 2008.

1. TheSodGod

TheSodGod LawnSite Member

Hi All
    My Folks moved into a new home here in Central FL a few months back and did all the usual stuff to get the the lawn to become healthier ie set the sprinklers, weed and feed and regularly mow it.
    But the lawn is just looking terrible!
    What do you guys think what would your plan of attack be??
    Pics are below so you can get a good idea of the problem!

Ive been reading up on dethatching and it seems theres a few conflicting stories on it being bad or not im no expert in this field but id say by the looks of the lawn it could do with something to get rid of all the straw/thatch embedded within most of the grass. Now if this is the route to go would one of the less expensive dethatchers with the metal tines that attache to the back of the tractors work or are the ones that cut into the ground like edgers the only ones to use on St Augustine?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. quiet

quiet LawnSite Senior Member

Hopefully one the FL boys will chime in, but let me get you started. It looks like the lawn never got established properly after the installation, and you're seeing some die back this winter. Perhaps the damage is also a result of a fungus, but in mid-winter it is probably not "active". I understand you've had a long dry spell in FL.

When the appropriate time comes -when the grass begins growing, use a fertilizer that has a high level of Potassium in the mix - preferably potassium sulfate and not muriate of potash. (Potassium is the 3rd number on the bag.) Also use a fertilizer that contains Ammonium sulfate as the primary N source rather than urea.

Start there.

3. ICT Bill

ICT Bill LawnSite Platinum Member