1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Help on billing

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Lawn Works 1, Apr 4, 2003.

1. Lawn Works 1

Lawn Works 1 LawnSite Member

I am a little short on work since this is my first year on my own so I went to a local relator and told him if he had and houses for sale that needed to be mowed I'd be glad to do it since I needed the work. He called me a couple days ago and gave me 3 yards, he only wants me to cut each twice, and the bad part, the closest one is a 20 minute drive.
    How would you go about this??
    1) Would you drive to each one and charge for gas and drive time and the yard. If so ho much for drive time?

2) Would you sub them out to a LCO in that area and collect a small %, or collect none and just be glad you didnt have to drive that far and waste the time???

Any input is appreciated
  2. LocalTouch

LocalTouch LawnSite Member

If you need the work, and you would not be losing money driving to it, than take them! Always keep in mind, he may call in the future too!
  3. Navig8r

Navig8r LawnSite Senior Member

I go alot of places that are 20 minute drives... try to get a price on the job that helps cover that, but if you don't have any other work that it'll be keeping you from..... do it.
    DO NOT tell the realtor that the price includes an adjustment for drive time..... It's not his/her problem where you drive from...... also, they will then expect a deal when they get work for you that's closer......

Go do it, and make it look Goooddd, maybe it'll lead to more, maybe the new homeowners will hire you (get the address and when the home sells, mail a flyer)
  4. tiedeman

tiedeman LawnSite Fanatic
    from earth