1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community on the Franchising Forum.

Dismiss Notice

***HELP on MULCH***

Discussion in 'Landscape Maintenance' started by chuckhopkins76, May 20, 2010.

1. chuckhopkins76

chuckhopkins76 LawnSite Member

I know how to figure out how much mulch that I need for each job, but I do not know how to give a labor price. Do ya'll charge by the square foot, by the yard or by the hour? I have been mowing residential properties for 2 years full time and 100% legit (tax i.d., insurance & business license), but now I am getting into some commercial accounts and they want bids so I am lost on what to charge for mulching. On residentials I just shot out a price, but I need a real system. Thanks

2. fl-landscapes

fl-landscapes LawnSite Silver Member

you need to come up with your hourly man hour rate. It's like a shop labor rate. Everyone has different rates based on their particular overhead, size of business, equipment being used, profit margins, geographic area, ect. ect. So figure what you need to make per man hour worked to cover your overhead, then figure what profit margin you need to stay in business and cover expenses, expected and unexpected costs, future equipment purcheses ect. That will give you an hourly rate per employee even if it is just you, add the materials to the hours it will take to get the job done and bingo you got your answer. Maybe mark up your materials.....its a shell game with things like that you either get the price built in to your labor rate or you have a labor rate plus material mark ups.

3. Lbilawncare

Lbilawncare LawnSite Bronze Member

Take into consideration how far you will have to wheelbarrow it too.

4. stephen424

stephen424 LawnSite Senior Member

charge your man hour x the number of yards (at least that's what i do)

simple mulch job .... $30/yard