1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Help on pricing in NC

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by KillaWhale, Dec 6, 2004.

1. KillaWhale

KillaWhale LawnSite Member

I have a large clean up job to price and I am need at pricing this type of job. It weeding(beds are not that bad), lots of pruning bushes and trees(80% of job), tree removal and stump grinding(sub out), re-edging all of the beds, apply mulch, customer also wants non-toxic weed killer applied and some leaf removal. It will a helper and myself doing majority of the work. Approx. 800-900sq. ft. of beds and 50 to 60 bushes and small trees. I appreciate any input you guys can give me.
  2. KillaWhale

KillaWhale LawnSite Member

Meant to say "I am new at pricing...."
  3. YardPro

YardPro LawnSite Gold Member

without more specific details it's hard to price.

"alot " is not a good measure

all weed killer is toxic..to the weeds.

roundup is non toxic to mammels...

what we (and you ) need for pricing info is numbers like linear feet of bed, how many stumps, wht kind of wood and thier height and diameter.

If you're starting out in business get the ALCA publication of vander kooi's labor time data handbook.

it gives work meathods, and times for about every job you will come across..
  4. MMLawn

MMLawn LawnSite Gold Member

I am not busting your chops here only trying to help you to avoid any problems. Since your profile says that you have 1 year experience and since you don't know how to price any of these jobs I would suspect that you either haven't done such before or if so have very little experience doing so, so based on that thought my first and main question would be are you LICENSED and INSURED to do this work in NC. To assist you to do this work you must have the below listed licenses.