Help recommend an annual program?

Discussion in 'Homeowner Assistance Forum' started by MrC, Mar 30, 2007.

1. MrC

MrC LawnSite Member
    from Jersey

What consumer lawn program would you recommend? My local nursery carried Greenview and praised it over Scotts all the time. It seemed to work better than the Scotts that I purchased at Home Depot. To be fair, when I first moved in the lawn was horrible. The Greenview is a two step annual program. Now my nursery who swore off Scotts is now carrying Scotts Lawn Pro. Are these programs all the same?

2. lawnstriper23

lawnstriper23 LawnSite Senior Member

One word for you, LESCO

3. MrC

MrC LawnSite Member
    from Jersey

Newbie here so please excuse my ignorance. I found a local Lesco dealer, so what do I need to know before going there and buying the weed and feed (ex. grass type) Is there a general Lesco fertilizer that would apply like the Scotts step 1. I've seen the name Dimension over and over but there are probably 20 different kinds. I know I should do a soil test through my county but I don't know how long that would take and I don't want to apply a weed and feed to late.

4. lawnstriper23

lawnstriper23 LawnSite Senior Member

I would head over to Lesco, they can set you up on a fertilizer plan for the entire year for the zone where you live. I have a printout of what fertilizer to apply and what month to apply. This way given to me by my local Lesco dealer. I would ask them about the soil sample because they can handle that for you too. I think the fee is like $25 or something like that. If you look around at local landscaping companies, a majority of them use Lesco products. That should be proof in the pudding just by knowing the pros use it. Hope this helps and sorry if I came off alittle harsh earlier.....

5. MrC

MrC LawnSite Member
    from Jersey