Help selecting residential walk-behind

Discussion in 'Homeowner Assistance Forum' started by cbuxton5200, Apr 2, 2007.

1. cbuxton5200

cbuxton5200 LawnSite Member

Hi all...I've been using a John Deere 14SB for 12+ years and it has been great. I'm in the process of moving to a new home with a 3/4 acre lot. I am afraid that my 21" mower is going to be too small to mow this efficiently each week! I would like to stay away from the MTD type lawn tractors for quality reasons as well as the amount of space it's going to take in my garage. In my dream world I would like the Quick 36, but for a residential mower, $2100 is a lot of money. I have been doing some looking for a used machine, but there don't seem to be a whole lot on the market in central Iowa. Sears makes (or possibly just rebrands) a 33" walk behind: http://www.sears.com/sr/javasr/product.do?cat=Lawn+Mowers&pid=07188933000
    Is this a mower that is sufficient for my size lawn? Would the quality of cut be comparable to a basic lawn tractor? Any other ideas on what I should consider? Thanks

2. DCE

DCE LawnSite Senior Member

I think that Sears deal is made by MTD/Cub Cadet, because they have one in their line like it: http://www.cubcadet.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_10051_14101_162710_43275_-1

Just a suggestion here - wht about an Exmark Metro Commercial 26? I think those run about $1,450.00. At least, that's what the Exmark dealer here sells those for. It's a slightly smaller width with the 26" cut as opposed to the 33", but you get a better built machine and a better built engine too with the Kawasaki FJ180V.

Or, if a 33" - 36" is what you're looking for, maybe also consider the Billy Goat finish mower?

3. LarryF

LarryF LawnSite Bronze Member

From one homeowner to another, follow your dream and go for the Quick 36.

4. BUCKEYE MOWING

BUCKEYE MOWING LawnSite Bronze Member