Help with 1st commercial bid

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by tamo, May 3, 2007.

1. tamo

tamo LawnSite Member

Went to look at a law office in a nice part of portland, or. They have to find new lawn guy because they need the work done by 9 am when clients show up and the current company keeps showing up after 9 to start. It seems like they're desperate and they can't find anyone else willing to finish before 9 am.

This is my first year and I've picked up 30+ clients already, but while not low balling, I don't think I'm making as much as a can. My question is how much more can I charge for a commercial job like this as opposed to a residential.

For the mowing I would typically charge about $70.00/cut. I'm thinking about pushing that to $100. I've never bid commerical, but assume that they would be willing to pay more.

The other part of the job his a good amount of hedge trimming. I can't quantify for you how much exactly, but it would be a situation where I'd do it in increments since I'd need to be done by 9 am when working there. I'll figure out how long I think it would take me times an hourly rate. Right now I've been getting $40/hr. for stuff like this which I know is low. How high could I reasonably go commerical.

I know its tough to judge this job for you guys based on my description. I'm just looking for your experiences with commerical accounts and how high you can usually push the price. I want to stop bidding lower than I need to.

thanks

2. bohiaa

bohiaa LawnSite Fanatic

it's called an emergancy call.............they want this so they have to pay that.

they dont run your business you do.....If they want something by a certain time CHARGE THEM....to be honest, I dont think I would show up for 100.00

3. Gilligan

Gilligan LawnSite Member
    from Florida

Charge them the same rate per hour they would charge you!

4. NELawnCare

NELawnCare LawnSite Member

[​IMG]
    Now THAT is funny!