help with bidding landscaping job

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Giant Menehune, Aug 9, 2005.

1. Giant Menehune

Giant Menehune LawnSite Member

Hey Guys,
    I've been fretting over this one for 2 days and need some help. I don't know how to price this job because I'm new at this. I don't want to cheat the client, but at the same time I don't want to cheat myself. I don't know what would be fair...let me explain.

This client has someone taking care of the lawn, the problem is, whoever is doing it only cuts the grass and does no trimming. In a nutshell, the undesireable weeds and trees surrounding the outer edges of the property are encroaching on the lawn and she wants those undesireables removed so the the lawn will expand. There is a considerable amount of hand weeding involved, and some light to medium chainsaw work. I think I can do it in 2 or 3 days if I have my brother working with me. The property is about a half acre, not small but not big either. If I get the job, I could in all likelyhood get the lawn account too, which is what I'm really after.( I can do the landscaping thing, but it's really hard on my back and I'd rather just do lawn and trim.) It's been bugging me so bad I'm almost ready to pass on the job, and that might not be the best thing to do because I'm just starting out and I need accounts.
    I'm thinking I want $1,000, since it is labor intensive. I'm hoping someone out there can help shed some light on the subject. What do you charge for landscaping of this type?
    I'd greatly appreciate any advice any of you could give me.
    PS. I live on the Big Island Of Hawaii

2. Miller Rules

Miller Rules LawnSite Member

How many sq. feet do you got to clear ,Its probably not going to take as long as you think.

3. Giant Menehune

Probably around 80, to 120, or so.

4. TClawn

TClawn LawnSite Silver Member