Help with big estimate/consultation

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by TNLC owners, Jul 27, 2006.

1. TNLC owners

TNLC owners LawnSite Member

Hello everyone,

I have an appointment in the morning with my local library director to discuss a lawn care estimate. This is my first time dealing with an account of this size or importance. I was wondering what kind of advice some of you who have more experience with this than I do could give me. Currently, they have switched lawn services three times this summer and as of right now, the lawn hasn't been mowed in two weeks. I was thinking that a good way of doing this estimate would be to offer the first mowing "free" in order to give them an idea of the quality work I do and it would also help me out on determining the correct price to charge. Of course this "free" mowing would actually be figured into the final price I give them so I'm actually not loosing anything on it as long as I get the account. The library is literally just down the street from my house and in a neighborhood that I service regularly. I would really like to get this account and am just looking for any and all advice that is out there. Thanks for your help!

2. jwscroll

jwscroll LawnSite Member

Don't do anything for free when it comes to a county contract, county officials tend to take advantage of that.

3. TurfProSTL

TurfProSTL LawnSite Senior Member

Handle it like any other estimate. Figure what you need to do the job and price it.....

4. fiveoboy01

fiveoboy01 LawnSite Silver Member

If you do it for free, you're looking at turning them into a PITA customer. They'll want "other" stuff for free down the road. If you're confident in your quality of work, there is no need to prove how well you do, it will show after you're done.

If it is too tall, charge them 50-100% on top of what you normally would for the first cut.

5. all ferris

all ferris LawnSite Bronze Member