Help with french drain

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by rogerslawn, Jan 3, 2004.

1. rogerslawn

rogerslawn LawnSite Member

:blob2: I have been contracted to install a French drain. I have some knowledge but have never actually installed one. There is a 20' gutter that will be running into it as well as a yard drain. I only have 15' between the house and the property line with underground utilities in the same area. The lawn is only a year old and under water all the time side/back 48' by 62'. The back I plan to bring in a substantial amount of soil. Plenty of room to raise grade. The side yard is the problem 15' by 36' no room to raise grade.
  2. KCLandscape

KCLandscape LawnSite Senior Member

Call utilities and hand dig
    What is the yard drain attached to?
  3. rogerslawn

The drain needs to be installed at the same time. both drains need to be connected.
  4. WeatherMan

WeatherMan LawnSite Senior Member

give us a pic Would be much easier
  5. rogerslawn

I do not have a digital camera.From the house to the property line there is a 2' grade difference.
  6. landscapingpoolguy

landscapingpoolguy LawnSite Senior Member