1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Help with landing commercial accounts.

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by JayD, Jul 15, 2007.

1. JayD

JayD LawnSite Silver Member

OK, here is my question guys.
    I'm in my first year in this mowing mostly, and would like some tips on landing a handful of commercial mowing accounts. I bought a new 52" eXmark WB at the beginning of this season and would like to buy a zero turn this winter but would like some comm.acct.'s to justify buying it. Yes, I'm solo with an helper sometimes. I'm not trying to take over the market, as I am a electrician full time. I'm just looking to earn some extra cash for savings for when times are bad in the electrical work. Don't get me wrong, I love doing it and in it for the long haul. No different than firemen doing it for part time work. The question is, at the beginning of this season, commercial properties would not even give a bid. Some one told me it's because those kinds of accounts are bid the year before like in August. Is this true? You have to bid near the end of one season for the next ?
    Thanks for all your input.
  2. Tim Wright

Tim Wright LawnSite Bronze Member

You might want to get into plumbing instead.

Back to your ?

You will find that theya re always more work than you think.

If they tell you it took the last people 4 hours to complete with 2 guys, it probably took 8 hours with 4 guys.

Try to get at least half of the accounts on levelized billing, and the other half on summer monthly billing.

If the properties are large, a couple of ZTR's are a must.

More specific questions might get you better response than mine.

3. fargoboy

fargoboy LawnSite Member

you mean plumbers make more than electricians?
  4. Tim Wright

Tim Wright LawnSite Bronze Member