Help with mixing equation

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by Slyder777, Sep 16, 2007.

1. Slyder777

Slyder777 LawnSite Member
    from Texas

OK, sorry for the noob post, but I am missing something here and need a pro to tell me what it is.

I am studying for my license exam and this is an exact question on the mixing part of the study guide.

You need to apply a pesticide premise spray for livestock pests to an area of 70,000 sq. ft. The pesticide is a 57% EC (5 lb/gal.) formulation. The label recommended rate is 1 ounce per 3,000 sq. ft. and requires an application of a 2 percent spray mixture in an oil carrier (oil weight = 7.05 lb/gal).

A. How many ounces of pesticide concentrate do you need to treat the premises?

B. How many gallons of oil carrier do you need to prepare the 2 percent mixture?

Question A is an obvious and easy answer. Question B is throwing me for a loop. I have the answer, and still can't get how they got to it. I have had no other problems with any of the mix eqautions to this point.

Also, the first two answers they provide in the book were wrong. They had to post a correction with two new answers. I am starting to wander is their answer for B is still wrong.

Again, I know the answer, but need to know how to get there. THanks for any help.

Shawn

2. americanlawn

americanlawn LawnSite Fanatic
    from midwest

Seems they are trying to throw you for a loop (trick question). Multiply the answer of question A times .02

That's my best guess.

3. mkroher

mkroher LawnSite Senior Member

hi. it says the "label recommends a rate of 1oz per 1000sqft". I think that means solution, so the info about the 57% stuff is non important.

A). 1oz/3000sqft * 70,000sqft = 23.3oz sol

B) 23.3oz sol * 1 gal/sol / 128oz * 100gal oil / 2 gal sol = 9.10 gal oil ??

That's my guess.

4. RigglePLC

RigglePLC LawnSite Fanatic

I will try. I agree, 23.3 ounces concentrate needed.