Help!! Zero Turn on Slopes!

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by cb31, Jun 21, 2007.

1. cb31

cb31 LawnSite Member

I'm a first-timer on this site but I figured this is the best place to ask many professionals their opinion. I just purchased a Hustler Fastrak 54" with a Kawasaki and I love it, however....I have this large slope in my backyard, probably 15-20 degrees. Can someone please tell me the best way to mow it with this mower? I had no problem going side to side and up and down with a tractor mower but this mower is much trickier. I have zero turn experience but I've never had this kind of hill to mow.

First attempt: Went straight down and planned to turn before the bottom to come straight back up (was gonna mow the "turning area" at the very bottom when I was finished) but the tires lost traction, I put it in full reverse and just spun the tires, I tried to turn out of it but it slid sideways until I went into the ditch. Had to get a tow truck with a winch to get me out. Hour meter still said .7!!

Second Attempt: Tried going side to side but kept sliding down the hill towards the bottom. I had to keep the front end pointed up to even keep a straight line going across.

I love this mower but I feel like it might be wrong for my yard!! Help!! I just bought it yesterday for over $5,000! Side note: There is no flat-spot at the bottom of the hill at all, it ends in a ditch.

2. 02DURAMAX

02DURAMAX LawnSite Gold Member

You should of bought a stander....or a walk-behind...they are much better on slops that ZTR....

3. david shumaker

david shumaker LawnSite Senior Member

I use my 36 inch walk behind for yards with alot of slopes and ditches. If it is a small area, I just use my trimmer to cut the hill or ditch. I also use my 21inch walk push mower on some slopes. I can cut a yard with alot of slopes and ditches faster with the 36 inch walk behind than a ZTR.

4. The Captain

The Captain LawnSite Senior Member