1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by SONSCAPES, Jan 26, 2006.

SONSCAPES LawnSite Member

I Am New To Irrigation. The Situation Is I Have Bidded On Three Irrig. Jobs In The Past Few Months I Use 2 Different Distributers For Products So I sent Them Some Measurements To Help Get A Head Count And To Get A Price Together. All 3 Times It Took Them About Three Weeks To Get It Done And All 3 Times I Did Not Get The Jobs. I Have Taken A Two Day Design Seminar And I Have Tried To Get A Guy From The Distributer To Come Out And Show Me How To Get A Material List Myself And Learn How To Design A System Myself. He Has Called With An Excuse Every Time Not To Meet. My ? Is What Can I Do To Learn So I Don't Have To Rely On These Guys and eliminate turning in these late bids. also what are some pricing methods for irrigation. Thanks In Advance!
  2. PurpHaze

PurpHaze LawnSite Fanatic

There really is no quick and easy answer. There are designers out there that have no trench time and then there are some of us working stiffs that have no design/education time yet think they can still design. Personally I believe it takes a balance of both trench time and design/education time. Personally, I had a lot of trench time already and then took a local design class through a community college that was taught by one of the best in the area. I also took a drafting class to aid in drawings before we switched a few years ago to CAD. Trench time will benefit as to how to put the system together the best way and education time will allow you to better understand how the hydraulics of moving water works. This is not an instant gratification thing though. It takes time.
  3. Broker

Broker LawnSite Senior Member

If you want to eye something

Plumbing Material