Help

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by snoweagle, Apr 10, 2001.

1. snoweagle

snoweagle LawnSite Member
    from N.W Mn

How do most of you charge? do you charge one price for the cutting and charge another for edging/trimming/spring&fall cleanup? Do most of you cut each customer by the week or doyu let them determine when the lawn should be cut?

2. Acute Cut

Acute Cut LawnSite Senior Member

I am in the minority i believe here, but i charge a flat rate per month. Example: 5K lawn with minimal edging and regular trimming. 25$ for a week (X4)= 100$. i let my customers know that they will recieve a bill for 100$ from april till nov. Then there is no confusion. The benifit of the flat fee in my opinion is that in later summer, when the lawn doesn't need to be mowed near as regularly, then you can mow bi-weekly and still make the same money. I DO NOT let my customers make my schedule. I am a solo operator and do not have time to run all over the city for mr. and ms. jones.

3. Roger

Roger LawnSite Fanatic

I agree about NOT letting the customer set the schedule. When I started a few years ago, I let that happen. But, now I don't take a customer who wishes to do that. When I started, I took "anybody" just to get customers. After awhile I realized the weekly regulars meant the best money - not surprising, but it took some time to learn! However, then I realized my best option was to have a mix of weekly, and others on MY schedule. I've settled on about 75% regulars and 25% non-regular. I work solo, so don't have much slack. The non-regulars can be fit into the schedule, and at the same time I can keep the weekly customers mowed on the same days. If weather interrupts the routine, my first priority is getting the regulars back on schedule. If I had a full schedule of weekly customers, an interruption would make it difficult to catch up.