1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by Mrs. H, Sep 6, 2007.

1. Mrs. H

Mrs. H LawnSite Senior Member

I can't keep losing sleep...I have too much to take care of. So maybe some advice from ya'll would help.

David has been in buisness 7 years, and although at the beginning I had no idea how to manage anything like this...he basically threw me into the job anyway. I have an Associates degree in ART, no business or accounting. I have 2 1/2 years experience in debt collections, but I LOATHED that job. And I used to do my own taxes and I am pretty good at budgeting a household. So, he's like, "You're smart, you'll figure it out."

Well, he's been on my back ever since. Nothing I do is "right" to him. The first 2 years worth of paperwork was all done by hand. And when we got the Quicken program, I'm the one who waded through it and learned it. We got the Groundkeeper Pro...and once again, I learned it.

In 2001 he tried to hire my job out to an accountant, but that only lasted a few weeks because she "wasn't doing it right" and I had to fix everything.

In 2002 he wanted a partner, so he got one, and ya'll heard that story in another thread. I had to fix that one, too. (What I mean by fix is get all the info in the computer straight, the billing straight, the schedual, the budget, etc. This usually takes about a month or so.)

And this past summer, he got his father involved and hired a manager, who didn't do squat...and I've had to fix everything.